Three Weeks On.

Three weeks on from the crash and things are improving nicely. I picked off the final road rash scabs leaving the tell-tale rosy under patch, the stitches have come out leaving a scar and a worrying little lump, as if I wasn’t already aesthetically challenging enough now I have that, the bruises and swelling have all gone.

My liver needs a high contrast scan, it was supposed to be the other day but my vertigo was so bad I could hardly stand up let alone get from here to there. The brain head concussion thing is an experience I’m not too keen repeat.

I’ve basically spent the last three weeks with the concentration span of a 2 year old, I’ve not been able to work, the splitting head pains and these explosive mood swings, I’m still finding focussing on this difficult, this is my third time returning to write this.

My shoulders still really hurt down under my under arms and into my rib cage around the my boobs. I have to have a pre-op MRI on my back 26/09/016 so hopefully over winter I can recover from that.

My main concern though is the brain thing, the sooner a doctor gives me the ok on that the better.

I’m trying to go through TFL to claim again a failing in the road surface but I don’t know how that’s going to work, I’m not holding my breath on that.

I’ve broken lots of bones over the years, I’ve had many accidents across a range of sports and activities, I still believe that our bodies are amazing in the way can withstand punishment but this time it really does hurt and I don’t know if it was because it has a hard hit or because I’m just in my mid 40s.

Ultimately I’m miserable, day time TV sucks, I can’t fully remember how to use the software I’ve been using for 15 years and if I have to hear how lucky I am one more time from another doctor I think I might just have to have myself a menopausal fit

Moving forward I really considering not road riding and taking to the track, it really is a lot more skilful than the telly box would have you believe, I’m hardly the most explosive rider but I think that after my back surgery and a winter of Zwifting on my turbo and I could be good to go, of course this brings me back to the above point about insurance, if I can’t claim because TFL are within their repair time frame and they don’t take my explanation about how a 23mm wheel can rut because of the contact patch size I’d most probably end up buying second hand because I just don’t have that kind of money, it’s already a stretch when you’re living on your own and trying to turn you pile of bricks into a home

Leave a Reply

