Relax.

while it looked flat it had a nasty little 4% climb that was just under 1k long the road was actually called Church Hill.

Today on my morning ride something just clicked. Firstly I changed my route and while it looked flat it had a nasty little 4% climb that was just under 1k long the road was actually called Church Hill.

Usually on a this kind of thing I find myself half way up on my small ring spinning through my cassette while mentally egging myself on with mental self-deprecating profanity laced insults , I tense up and panic and in that state I simply forget to breathe.

This morning I rounded this new corner and saw the hill, my instinctive thought was “ oh god” . I was still on a 52/17 rounding the corner, I dropped down to 21 and started spinning heading to a bend in the road presenting me with the church atop of the hill I was half way up and only just started struggling. It’s normal at this point for me to start looking for a gear that I can manage but this morning I got up on my toes for 10 seconds before sitting and back and dropping into a 36/19.

By the time I crested I was blowing hard, but it wasn’t painful and the view from the top over Richmond Park was beautiful in the sunrise.

My tip for climbing, not that you should listen because I’m rubbish, but relaxing and enjoying it made it so much easier.

Leave a Reply

